PUTRAJAYA: Pubs and nightclubs are set to open on Sunday, but there’s a catch for patrons – they have to undergo a supervised RTK-Antigen test 24 hours before they can enter any such outlet.

The test can cost between RM30 and RM35.

The requirement is among protocols to be followed by night club and pub operators which can re-open for business after two years in the Covid-19 negative list.

The Housing and Local Government Ministry announced the latest protocol, which will take effect from today.

According to the standard operating procedure for nightclubs and pubs posted on the National Security Council website, patrons have to undergo a RTK-Ag test either physically or virtually under the supervision of a medical practitioner registered with the Malaysian Medical Council.

Alternatively, premise operators or owners can do the tests on their customers before they are allowed to enter.

Results can be known within 15 minutes.

“Those responsible for the premises must ensure that their customers’ Covid-19 test is the latest (taken within the past 24 hours) and that the status is negative,” the NSC protocol says.

MySejahtera check-in is also compulsory, both for patrons and staff of nightclubs and pubs.

Customers must have the MySJ Trace function on when they are in the premises.

“Customers who are positive and are under home surveillance order are not to be allowed to enter the premises.

“Premise owners are also to ensure that customers have their face masks on except during meals, when drinking or dancing,” it said.

The premises must have a good ventilation system and must be disinfected if any Covid-19 case is detected, according to the guideline issued by the Department of Safety and Health.

Operation hours for night clubs and pubs are according to licence and permit issued by the local authority.

On April 27, the government announced that nightclubs would be allowed to reopen.

With this, the NSC’s negative list, which prohibited certain activities and businesses during the Covid-19 pandemic, will be abolished starting May 15.