JOHOR BARU: The memorandum of understanding (MOU) on bipartisan cooperation between Pakatan Harapan and the government will not continue if the anti-hopping Bill is not tabled and passed in the next Parliament sitting next month.

Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said if the government agrees to pass the Bill, they will continue the cooperation. Otherwise, the MOU will be void and Pakatan Harapan will pull its support from the current government.

He said this in a speech at the launch of the Pakatan Harapan and Malaysian United Democratic Party (Muda) election machinery for the Johor polls yesterday.

Anwar, who is also the PKR president, said the MOU spelt out several transformations besides the Undi18 Bill, among them the additional allocation to address Covid-19 matters, poverty and assistance for SMEs.

“RM45bil was approved to settle Covid-19 related issues, and RM10bil for addressing poverty and SMEs, including the Undi18 Bill,” he explained.

Meanwhile, Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) deputy president Datuk Salahuddin Ayub said the Bill was one of the agreed conditions stated in the MOU signed last September.

“As one of the MOU committee members, the Bill was fundamental in the agreement and was stated loud and clear.

“So if the Bill is not brought up and passed in the March Parliament sitting, we will withdraw our support from the MOU and the government,” he said.

He said, to date, their corporation with the government is good.

“Everything is on track and we hope that the Bill will be passed in the coming session,” he said, adding that the Bill will give assurance to the rakyat that their elected representative would not hop to another party after winning in the election.

Meanwhile, Johor Pakatan Harapan chief Aminolhuda Hassan said the state opposition will also support the Bill if Pakatan Harapan manages to form a government after the state election.

“We will table the Bill and approve it in the first state assembly session if we manage to form the government,” he said, adding that Amanah will be announcing its candidates on Feb 18.